It is possible to run a pilot with minimal impact on end-users.
Project features toggle the user interface and don't affect data processing. Use "Bulk Update" to change project features for all projects at once and enable back only for pilot projects.
Reminders actively notify end users. Turn them off with "Bulk Modify" and enable only for pilot teams.